Party #3 – Friends

X’mas eve started early for me. 9am to be exact. This is going to be the first time I host a proper dinner party. No more Pizza Huts and KFC delivery services, no more canned soups and frozen meals, food, eh? real food. So, tonight’s guests will kinda be, uh hum, guinea pigs I guess ๐Ÿ˜‰ We prepared a lot of booze too, wanting to do one of those drinking-smoking kind of dinner.

xmas_dinner_1.jpg

Turns out the new Ikea acquisitions worked pretty well. The 2-piece extendable table sits 10 snugly. The Frenchy blue-floral dining set decked out nicely, complete with cutlery, wine and water glasses.

From 10am onwards till about 6.45pm when the first guests arrives, I was largely working non-stop in the kitchen. The cooking wasn’t so bad as I started a couple of hours earlier. Plus there was help from Yep Nee and a family maid who cleaned the house. There was a couple of hiccups though, but I’ll leave that for another entry.

xmas_dinner_2.jpg

Around 7.45pm, everyone arrived and we quickly rolled out the first dish. It’s a french onion soup. There were really two groups of friends and they were slow to warm up, I think the wine and Tsingtao will have an important part to play later in the evening.

Well, here’s what we’ve whipped up for the night:
xmas_dinner_3.jpg
Poulet au Vinaigre (Vineger Chicken)

xmas_dinner_4.jpg
Tartiflette (Cheesy Baked Potatoes)

xmas_dinner_5.jpg
Roasted Tomatoes

xmas_dinner_6.jpg
Grilled Rosemary Lamb

As the night rolled, people started to propose toasts all round. The more tipsy we got, the more toasts we proposed. Then we brought out even more wine, told more jokes (JT had some great ones) and played games so we can drink even more. It’s a pity I didn’t have my cigars at home, so Jeff’s cigs were a good substitute. I think I was the first to knock out, and went to lie at the sofa. When I woke up, everyone was already halfway through the apple pie.

xmas_dinner_7.jpg

The dinner finished at about 12 midnight. Some of us started exchanging X’mas presents. I got a box of cookies and a chinese tea set. Most of us were drunk. A couple of girls threw up. I didn’t see some of them go, having fell asleep before they left.

Post mortem? It was a great party. I’ve never had so much fun for a quite a while now. I thought the no-kids-more-booze rule worked quite well too. I should get started composing my next party menu soon ๐Ÿ˜‰

  1. Rene

    Hi, tks for being such a great host. The food was sumptious, the booze was exhilarating, the games was most fun and enjoyable. I had a great time. Most importantly, the company is great! I’m looking forward to more invites ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. Wow, what a feast! I am new to the hosting family and friends thing as well and can relate to that feeling of triumph when a dinner party actually goes well – despite minor kitchen tragedies.




Leave a Reply

