you are what you read

I run my own business and as a result, had the opportunity to coach my colleagues in the course of their work. Over a decade now, I’ve observed most adults simply don’t read enough to catch up. Sometimes, it seems to me that they avoid reading intentionally by filling up time with TV, movies, shopping and chit-chat.

Trust me, I’m not against TV, shopping and chit-chat. But there has to be a good mix of reading involved. A good benchmark would be if you’ve read a book in the last 6-12 months.

In my line of work, I see many smart individuals falling behind the technology curve after 3 years, all because they couldn’t be bothered to read to keep up with the industry. Amongst my friends, I see many choosing to focus their energy on their children’s pre-school and early primary homework, ignoring the development of their own ability to understand the world around us.

Please ReadGiven the people I interact with, I feel this to be a serious matter.

Serious enough for our country’s Total Defense committee to single it out and blare it out to Singaporeans on public buses that you should be “reading something useful.”

Sarcasm aside, I sincerely want to encourage you to pick up a book that is in the area of your current interest, and set aside 10-20 minutes a day to read it.

    Leave a Reply

